Detail Oriented

February 21, 2007 at 9:49 am | Posted in My Home, rayaphotography | 3 Comments

diamond chairI look at home magazines often and sometimes wonder if our home will ever be pretty enough to be photographed.

Before we moved, I had this vision of accomplishing everything on our list in the first week of ownership. People laughed, and quickly I learned that no – that is not going to happen. And here were are over a year later with baseboards uncaulked, crown molding unfinished, and a list of “to dos” longer than when we started. However, this is all to say that I’ve acquired some new inspiration for photographing my home despite its “unfinished” state.

After looking at this blog, I’ve realized that the smaller pieces of your home can make really interesting images. I had some fun with this yesterday, and I if you are so inclined I encourage you to try this yourself. Even if you have a point-and-shoot camera, find some good light (usually early morning or afternoon. Indirect light from a window makes for very nice photos) and an interesting composition. I now have my camera out all day and if something catches my eye around the house I take a picture of it.

guest room

fan

I’m looking forward to creating this series of vignettes around our home, and if you try this I’d love to see what you come up with as well : )

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s always fun to see your home from another’s perspective. We don’t need to know what’s not done because what is done is so cool.

  2. remember how my apartment looks? pu-lease. get er done.

  3. Faith, you gonna help? I’ve got a spackle knife with your name written all over it.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.